Forgive Yourself

 

“Forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors” (Matthew 6:12).  This is a transcendental goal that we will consider stepwise starting with Forgive Yourself, which is essential because we may obsess with the expiation of our sins in detriment of Spiritual Growth.

Peter said, “In truth I perceive that God shows no partiality” (Acts 10:34).  God does not choose to forgive one person and not another. It is just as important to forgive ourselves as it is to forgive others. Forgiving yourself is not about forgetting, but bringing the offense to yourself in negative ways, letting go of what you are holding against yourself so that you can move on with God, because God has moved on and we should follow Him, to dwell on whatever is true, noble, right, pure, lovely, and admirable.

The negative energy it takes to harbor anger, hatred, and resentment against you is quite exhaustive, and robs energy for spiritual growth at the image of God. Forgiving ourselves is a choice requiring courage and strength to overcome ourselves to beget interior peace. Forgiving yourself is also important to our neighbor, for the longer you harbor negative emotions the more explosive you become and the more apt to hurt others. You cannot modify the past, yet you can redirect your life replacing negative with positive emotions and letting the healing begin!

Consider the following prayer:

Heavenly Father, I understand that there is much to gain by forgiving myself and beginning the healing process, because I want to make a contribution in the future. I choose to forgive myself, to prevent anger and punishment, because Jesus died for my sins. I forgive myself for letting anger control me and hurt my neighbor. Give me Your Grace for Spiritual Growth. Amen.

This entry was posted in English and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.